It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:13 am


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Booting Linux from XP's Boot.ini
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:58 pm 
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 97
I've written up a small linux article for myself, that involves booting a
linux partition on a second hd, from the 1st hd's XP boot.ini .

Basicly it involves coping the linux's first hd block as a bootable MBR
file to be used as a windows boot.ini entry.

ie...

dd if=/dev/hdc1 bs=512 count=1 of=linux.mbr
copy /save/linux.mbr c:/
c:linux.mbr="linux boot partition"

While this works on an installed linux, if you change the linux kernel later,
you must also re-copy the mbr back into windows again.

Does anyone else know of a linux bootable procedure that does not step
on my windows MBR, I had to use FIXBOOT once already.

_________________
Image

You can rob me... beat me... kill me... just don't bore me! (Highway Gunny)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:20 am 
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 97
Continuing saga on Linux Loaders and XP...

I finally found a linux distro (DSL) that would install a LILO
on a 2nd hd so I could use it to boot a windows XP, by setting
the bios to start at the 2nd, and then the 1st hd.

Unforturnally (I think), the previous DD method now fails (go fig).

The current flavors of linux I'm playing with:

- DSL (damm small linux), a livecd mini linux
- PCLinuxOS, also a mini live cd, but does onlin installs
- Puppy, also a mini live cd with an online repository

All the above will act as a LiveCD, and allows hd installing
once you're satisfied that you like it.

Oh well, back to getting XP to booting a Lilo...

And what flavor of Linux do you run ?

_________________
Image

You can rob me... beat me... kill me... just don't bore me! (Highway Gunny)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:54 am 
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:13 am
Posts: 47
I'm not sure how to do this anymore since I've been using Linux exclusively for a couple years now and have no use for dual boot. I believe it involves making Linux have it's own boot partition and own boot loader.

This example uses grub and assumes the windows install is on hd0,5 which means the first harddrive detected, fourth partition. Partitions as assumed by grub atleast are numbered 0-x, 0 being the first and x being how many partitions you have.

title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,5)
makeactive
chainloader +1

hope I've helped atleast a little.

PS, I'm using Gentoo Linux

_________________
كاÙÂ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:58 am 
Full Member
Full Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 125
I'm dualbooting XP and FC5, using Grub. I can get back and post my grub config if anyone's interested. I'm in XP now though so it'll have to be tomorrow or so.

_________________
Image
Snapchat: tina.johnsson
Instagram: thedigitalrebel
Blog: drebel.net
Level editing: diffuze.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:35 pm 
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 321
Would never dual boot linux and windows on the same machine myself, tho I know thats not possible for every one.

_________________
Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the gun!

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 12:35 am 
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 2:36 am
Posts: 60
I'm doing what munsen said. I have Windows installed on my primary IDE drive (/dev/hda) and Linux on my primary SATA drive (/dev/sda), with grub installed on the SATA drive. Here's my current grub.conf.

Code:
# Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
default 0
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 30
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
# Comment out if you don't have a graphics card installed
splashimage=(hd1,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.15-r7
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system)  is located
root (hd1,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r7 root=/dev/sda3

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.15-r5
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system)  is located
root (hd1,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/sda3

# The next four lines are only if you dualboot with a Windows system.
# In this case, Windows is hosted on /dev/hda1
title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 1:14 am 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Derry, NH
gee, and people thought the red was hard to see? lol

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 1:38 am 
Full Member
Full Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 125
LOL chaos!

_________________
Image
Snapchat: tina.johnsson
Instagram: thedigitalrebel
Blog: drebel.net
Level editing: diffuze.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 1:56 am 
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 2:36 am
Posts: 60
hehe I tried changing the color without success !eh? !eh? !eh?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net