It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:09 pm


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Abnormal Program Termination
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 4:06 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:50 am
Posts: 3
I recently switched from Win 2000 to XP (clean install) and I seem to be having some problems with video drivers and games.

I've got an Asus v9520-x - nvidia fx5200 based. I've tried the original driver CD, MS nvidia driver, the latest Asus drivers (8.1.8.9) and the latest nvidia forceware (same version as the Asus drivers, 81.89) It worked fine in W2K with the drivers that came with the card.

Running Quake 3/4 Doom 3 or Neverwinter Nights, I get similar things... colors jump around, and I get crashes and freezes, sometimes with the Abnormal Program Termination message and sometimes without...

DxDiag passes all the test... I'm not sure what else to try.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 5:05 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:54 am
Posts: 487
Latest motherboard drivers and BIOS updates?

_________________
"ALL YOUR BASS ARE BELONG TO US"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 5:07 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:22 pm
Posts: 644
I had nasty viri so I installed a new SATA drive to supplement my 2 250GB drives.

I put XP on the SATA drive and dragged my Q3 install from the win2k drives over and loaded it - ran fine.

I assume Q4 would work as well.

You will have to narrow this down some more have you clean installed each layer ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 6:27 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:50 am
Posts: 3
I have flashed the bios with the latest update and downloaded and installed the latest motherboard chipset and USB drivers.

I uninstalled the current video driver (leaving only the basic VGA driver) and installed the latest ASUS driver again.

Exactly the same problem. Everything else works fine, except the games.

>You will have to narrow this down some more have you clean installed each layer ?

As far as I can by uninstalling a driver rather than updating or rolling back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:54 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
Have u gotten all the latest updates from Windows Update. Including Service Pack 2 and the latest Direct X?

I'm assuming you didn't change or add any hardware when you did the XP install? Add memory or anything like that?

Try disabling various apps that could be causing isssues temporarily. Virus scanners, etc.

Start > Run > Msconfig

See if anything is starting up that doesnt look familiar.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 7:52 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:59 pm
Posts: 1486
The new hard drive will not be imune from the virus, especially if you were dragging and dropping files off of it.

Got to housecall.trendmicro.com and get it all cleaned up then run "mcafee stinger" (google it) and let that clean whatever it finds.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:09 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:50 am
Posts: 3
Well I've made progress of a kind. I bought a new vid card and did another clean install of XP, installed the board drivers, then the vid driver and found exactly the same problems! I assumed there's some problem with my motherboard, but I've tried all the different VIA drivers and had no difference.

I was about to try installing W2K and upgrading it instead of doing a clean XP install, when I thought as a last chance I would try some different BIOS settings. I've tried loading failsafe and optimal settings and neither produced any difference.

I found this page:
http://techreport.com/columns/damage/2000q4/agp/

And although I have a Via KT-333 based board (Abit KX7-333R), after twiddling with these settings, I found a stable combination:
AGP Aperture 64M
AGP Mode 2X
AGP Driving Value EA (defaults to DA when loading presets... this made a big difference to being able to play the games at all.)

I don't think I had to change these values in W2K, although I don't know for sure since flashing the BIOS. I'm somewhat mystified why I have to fool with these settings, but as long as it works...

Thanks for the help guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 3:19 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 6:10 pm
Posts: 337
Location: San Diego, CA
not sure if it's too late, but, how bout monitor drivers?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 4:30 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:57 pm
Posts: 297
Which vid card did you get ?

What size power supply are you running ?

How much RAM are you runnning ?

Get your vid drivers direct from Nvidia's site.

_________________
[color=#0000BF][font=][size=150]~Retired~[/size][/font][/color]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net