It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:33 am


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 15 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:42 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
Hola.

I've dusted off QERadiant and have a new early alpha map I would like some feedback on from by BG friends, if anyone would be so kind.

What I would like to test is essentially map flow, health, ammo, armor, powerup and weapon placement.

The map is blocked out and is using about 8 textures, so I'm not looking for any feedback regarding aesthetics or visual bugs at this time. Lights are point lights scattered around to make it playable.

It is bot friendly, so load em up.

How to play:

1. place the .pk3 in your Quakelive Steam folder's baseq3 folder. Quake Live is be default in the directory below.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Quake Live

2. Start Quakelive
3. Bring down the console with ~
4 type in /map finkoqldm_alpha1 ffa

You can load bots from the UI once it's loaded.

Map link:
http://www.jfink.net/alpha1/finkoqldm_alpha1.zip

Here are some screenshots:

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:01 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
I played this map tonight with a bot.

The only difficulty I found so far is having to rocket jump to get the quad damage, but I finally got it.

Probably because I just had my 71st birthday on Dec. 24th - lol.

I will test it some more and try to have some more feedback for you in the next week or so.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 3:14 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
You shouldn't have to RJ up to it. There are some floating platforms that can be used to reach it. Its going to be redone in the next version anyway.

Thanks Spyder.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:15 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
I tried to jump onto the platforms but was unable to do it. That is why I resorted to RJ.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:19 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:59 pm
Posts: 1486
I am going to download and give you some feedback as soon as I can.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:06 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 6:10 pm
Posts: 337
Location: San Diego, CA
Approach to Quad was good. Just have to start jump in right place. Some angles of the map look nice for CPMA/Promode. Was that intentional?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:23 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
No, not intentional. Probably a positive side affect of trying to make this map more angular than a lot of my previous work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 6:01 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
Couple more screens of the revised quad area. I'm trying to resize these pics with the UBB code, but it's not working. Sorry.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 3:30 am 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Derry, NH
I assume this is released? Link?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:08 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
Not yet. Work continues...but slowly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:08 am 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Derry, NH
Ok. Getting Q3 back on my laptop, will download soon.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:17 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
This will only work with quake live...i think. I don't think it's backward compatible :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:55 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:59 pm
Posts: 1486
Do you think you'll be releasing a Q3A version?

Apparently Quake Live is on Steam now and cost 10 bucks!

I'm too much a tight ass to pay for Q3A a 3rd time I already own 2 copies of the game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:31 am 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Derry, NH
I was wondering about that... So, what happened to the free version?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: finkoqldm_alpha1 needs your feedback
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:24 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
Bethesda softworks bought id.

John Carmack left id.

Bethesda decided to drop support for Linux on Quake Live, saying that the open source community could "work it out themselves".

I was paying $49.00 per year for "pro" status on Quake Live for about 5 years.

Bethesda dumped Quake Live on to Steam and started charging $10.00 for it.

Bethesda "graciously" let me keep playing the game for free, but I had to prove that I had payed the $49.00 for "pro" status.

Looks like a great deal to me - for Bethesda. >:(


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 15 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net