It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:35 pm


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 6 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Q4finkodm1 Beta 2 !
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:38 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
Hey guys!

Beta2 of my Q4 DM map is all ready to roll. Lots of changes since the last one. Here's the d/l link:

http://www.digital-disposition.com/down ... _beta2.zip

How to Play a Q4 Map. The quick way.
Start Q4 Multiplayer.
go to your console and type 'si_map q4finkodm1_beta2'. Hit enter.
then type 'spawnserver' and hit enter again.
The map should load.

Or you could start a server through the Create Server menu.


This version of the map feels much more alive and hopefully more immersive. I spent a lot of time working on the details for this 2nd beta. Once again, this is a remake of my Quake3 map Zero Signal, also known as q3finkodm6.

Changelog:
    *Pretty much completely retextured the map. New skybox as well. Wanted a more spacey feel to the map.
    * Added a lot more lighting around the map.
    *Much better framerates. I had to ditch the light responsible for the cool shadows in the map, but fps are no longer taking a big hit in the RL area.
    *New teleporters and teleporter effects.
    *Projectiles should be working correctly at all times with TPs now.
    *Quad Room is now complete. Still feels to cramped IMO.
    *Glass walkway by Grenade Launcher.
    *Added sounds.
    *Added particle effects (smoke, sparks, steam)
    *Added tons of 'artsy' stuff. Decals, wires, wires, blah blah blah
    *Moved the TP by the railgun up to the Shotgun area. Redesigned the shotgun area in the process.


And of course, screenshots!
http://www.digital-disposition.com/scre ... a2_001.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/scre ... a2_002.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/scre ... a2_003.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/scre ... a2_004.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/scre ... a2_005.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/scre ... a2_006.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/scre ... a2_007.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 1:40 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 400
Location: F L O R I D A
i thought q4 was dead ? !amazed

ps... HAPPY 4th anniversary !

oh ya, beta 1 you stated to test with Q4 1.4.1.

Does this new beta require that or the new Q4 patch 1.4.2 ? or does it matter ?

Lemme know mmk !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:20 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 400
Location: F L O R I D A
well with patch 1.4.2 I get to the collision screen and get to look at your level shot, 2 or 3 items load and then I CTD, so it could be me as usual. I will try again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:50 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
hmm.strange :(

I created a clean install of Q4 with 1.4.2 to test it on and it ran fine on my machine.

Maybe check the console for an error.

Maybe someone else could let me know if it's not working for them

I only asked people to test it with 1.4.2 because that's the speed that the map is built around. Physics between 1.4 and retail are vastly different. And with the new content in the patches, there's a chance some of those textures are used in my map too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:01 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
Oh yeah, there is a "crashreports" folder in your Q4 install for when you CTD. Might want to check that out. You should see a folder in the crash reports folder called 7_20 (todays date) and the dump file will be in there. You should be able to see the error that crashed it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:16 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 400
Location: F L O R I D A
I just started over man ! Reloaded Q4 and it is ok now.
I originally loaded Q4 from another main hardrive onto this drive and it was all screwy because of those stoooopid Punk Buster issues I was having with WIn64.
Anyhoo my thoughts, this map is smaller and different from Q3finkodm6.
I just do not feel the love I had for it in Q3. Q4 is just so dark and blah !
I ran around awhile and everything was the same texture and I ran into a deadend where a teleporter should have been and then the mega was moved. I all most started crying. I think my period started today.... !lip
They say I am against change and only find the negatives in things.
So look at my thoughts as -2 cents ? dunno ?
I guess I could get used to the new layout.
But once again I never became a Q4 fan so just ignore me mmmk !
blah blah blah blah good work ElFinko !
sorry for the drama my good man !


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 6 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net