It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 3:22 am


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 10 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Quake Wars Updates!
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:57 am 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Derry, NH
I'm sure anyone who is at all interested in this game has seen many of the updates over the last few days. I was away, so I couldnt update BG until tonight...so, better late then never I guess!

Anyway, for those who missed out, or just want a refresher, here are the updates as they've been published here...

First, [link=http://www.burial-grounds.com/quakewars/news.php?item.24]new screenshots![/link] I posted a little gallery of them in low quality, but there are links to the higher quality images as well...

Next, there have been a TON of previews and interviews posted over the last few days. Not a lot of real "new" content, but tid bits here and there that make some of them worth a look. List below:

http://pc.gamezone.com/news/04_02_07_09_00AM.htm
http://www.firingsquad.com/games/enemy_ ... uake_wars/
http://www.totalquakewars.com/page.php?do=qwevent
http://www.quakeunity.com/file=2452
http://media.pc.ign.com/media/748/748377/vids_1.html
http://pc.ign.com/articles/777/777532p1.html
http://planetquake.gamespy.com/View.php ... ail&id=824
http://www.1up.com/do/previewPage?cId=3158428
http://www.evilavatar.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27730
http://uk.gamespot.com/pages/gamespace/ ... bj=6168428
http://www.gameinformer.com/News/Story/ ... .05179.htm
http://www.shacknews.com/extras/2007/04 ... kewars_1.x
http://www.actiontrip.com/previews/enem ... phtml?1988
http://www.gamepro.com/sony/ps3/games/p ... 7788.shtml
http://www.worthplaying.com/article.php ... =0&thold=0

Wow! hehe...

Ok, so on to the next update, and probably the best one. There was a ton of information released about the [link=http://www.burial-grounds.com/quakewars/page.php?10]Quake Wars Campaigns and Maps.[/link] There are some good high quality topology maps for 3 of the 12 maps, 1 from each of the 3 listed campaigns. There is a lot of good information listed on this page, so [link=http://www.burial-grounds.com/quakewars/page.php?10]check it out![/link]

All of this information is on the front page at burial-grounds through links and news postings. Enjoy!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 12:21 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1438
Awesome, Thanks!

The first two full size Campaign maps aren't coming up for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 7:00 pm 
Full Member
Full Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 10:04 am
Posts: 239
Thx Chaos.

But I saw this pic:
[lvlshot]http://www.burial-grounds.com/quakewars/e107_plugins/gallery/_imagefiles/tormenting_resized.jpg[/lvlshot]

and immediately thought "Battlefield 1942, El Alamein" :(

_________________
98 til I die.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 7:10 pm 
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 321
I think that tormentor is a little out of place in WWII :P not to mention the anansi...

_________________
Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the gun!

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 7:15 pm 
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 321
as for the landscape maps, they seem to have a missing o in the URL...

heres sewer...

http://www.burial-grounds.com/quakewars ... pology.jpg

and heres ark

http://www.burial-grounds.com/quakewars ... pology.jpg

_________________
Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the gun!

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:00 pm 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Derry, NH
ug, sorry about the messed up links. I was posting those around midnight...guess the eyes were a little glossed over by then...

fixed! Thanks!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:49 pm 
Full Member
Full Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:28 am
Posts: 108
What kind of CPU is QW going to require? Seems to be a Q4 level game in terms of resource requirements.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:15 pm 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Derry, NH
I dont think official system requirements have been released yet, however if you can play d3 and q4 effectively, then quakewars should be playable, probably at lower quality settings, but I'm just speculating. These are q4 system requirements, so I'd say if you meet these, then quakewars should be playable.

Recommended Specifications:

Software: Windows XP or Linux
CPU : Pentium 4 2.4GHz or Athlon64 3000 or higher.
Graphic card: Geforce FX 5700 or Radeon 9600 or higher.
CD-ROM: CDRom 52x or DVD-ROM 16x
RAM: 512 MB RAM
Internet: 1024KBPS or higher

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:01 pm 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Derry, NH
I just posted news on the main page about a preview/interview at the i30 LAN webpage. There are a few questions fielded by the audience, and one of them asks what the system specs are going to be, Paul Wedgewood replied...

"Minimum spec is about the same as Quake 4"

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:35 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
One interesting thing that I read in one of the articles, is that the game will support 64 bit and dual core processors.

Since the new mobo I just bought for my spare pc supports 64 bit and dual core, it looks like it is time to upgrade from 64 bit to 64 bit dual core, and move my 3700+ processor to the other pc.
while i am at it, i guess i might as well build another pc around the 3200+ processor I will have as a spare - LOL.

_________________
WE, THE WILLING
LED BY THE UNCARING
HAVE DONE SO MUCH
WITH SO LITTLE
FOR SO LONG
THAT WE ARE NOW QUALIFIED
TO DO ANYTHING, WITH NOTHING.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 10 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net