It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 7:28 am


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 21 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: jaxdm8 CTF
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:06 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 7:23 pm
Posts: 521
A while ago someone (I believe it was OzZ) brought up the idea of someone converting jaxdm8: Iron and Stone into a CTF map. With q4 around the corner, OzZ suggested in a thread that it seems only appropriate to make this map for q4 instead. I actually have some spare time now, and the mapping bug has bitten me again, so im going to go ahead and do this.

Im designing this map in q3, but will port it to q4 and release it as a q4 map. This means that the map can be beta tested, modified, tweaked, altered and improved all in q3, so by the time q4 rolls out, the map will be well on its way.

Here is a really lousy screenshot:
Image

All feedback is greatly appreciated! Please no comments on the visuals - im aware that the lighting is off and some of my architectural additions need to be tweaked in order to look as good as jax's original work.

Notes:
-I have recieved jax's permission to do this, in case anyone is wondering :)
-The lighting is temporary, since i will have to completely re-do it in q4 anyway
-There arent quite enough spawn points, and the bots are semi-retarded
-This is a very early alpha, and *anything* at this point can be changed, in fact the map itself can be scrapped and I can start anew. Dont hesistate to suggest anything at all, no matter how major.
-This is a test of the flow and gameplay, not of visuals. Please dont comment on how ugly it is :D
-Comments on gameplay, item placement, flow, or any other gameplay related suggestions you have are very welcome :)

DL the map here:
http://www.planetquake.com/stormshadow/jaxdm8CTF.zip

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:47 am 
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 3:59 am
Posts: 20
It's ugly and the lighting isn't very good :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:40 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 400
Location: F L O R I D A
I forgot how to do this, jaxdm8CTF.bsp not found ???????
It's in my baseq3 folder, what gives ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:58 am 
Full Member
Full Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:45 am
Posts: 205
Same here. :(

_________________
ImageImage
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 4:23 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 7:23 pm
Posts: 521
Mikey wrote:
It's ugly and the lighting isn't very good :)


omg, you did NOT just go there! *grinds his teeth*

BLOTTO and V-Thrax - you need to type /sv_pure 0 into the console first.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 4:47 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 400
Location: F L O R I D A
StormShadow wrote:
BLOTTO and V-Thrax - you need to type /sv_pure 0 into the console first.


yup, I did that first, then with /devmap, no good.
map not found period.
deleted maps to make room, tried every trick I know of, map not found.
I even tried to do a listmaps or dirmaps but cannot figure out the command to do the list maps.
I'll take Mikey's word for it hehehe :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 12:30 pm 
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 11:17 am
Posts: 53
BLOTTO wrote:
...I even tried to do a listmaps or dirmaps but cannot figure out the command to do the list maps.


Try "/fdir *.bsp" or "/fdir *jax*.bsp".

I haven't got the time to download the map yet, but I'll do now... ;).

Edit: I just had a look into StormShadow's pk3 and found out that there's no bsp file, only the aas file, the map file and the screenshot (jpg).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:10 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 7:23 pm
Posts: 521
Now i feel like a complete dumbass..

Anyway the new file is up now. Sorry for the inconvenience!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:32 pm 
Full Member
Full Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:45 am
Posts: 205
Thanks Storm. I thought the file size was a bit small. Oh well...chit happens. :D

_________________
ImageImage
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:09 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 400
Location: F L O R I D A
Well....aside from wacky shaders and gaps at the mirror point. :D
Feels too wide open at the mirror point, top and bottom floors, we need to play on it or get the bots working to make sure.
Seems like it will be a fast and fun map.
Check screenies.
EDIT: Just found out that you cannot see or d/l the screenies unless you are logged in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:11 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 400
Location: F L O R I D A
oh ya forgot that the shot guns need the blue light coming from their markers and each RL needs a weapon marker.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:09 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 7:23 pm
Posts: 521
the wep markers are pretty minor things that will be corrected at a later time.

I do think that the connectors between each side are a bit open.. but the great thing about jaxdm8 is its openness, and I didnt want to stray too far from that. I could certainly cut down the width and height of the doors, and I think ill do that for the next beta.

I keep bumping my nog on those things in your 1st screenie too.. ill take care of that.

Ill look into your 2nd screenshot.. i havent noticed that, but i will do a closer inspection in the actual .map file.

Thans for the feedback!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:00 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 400
Location: F L O R I D A
great fantastic, is alpha 2 ready yet ?
don't forget the aas :)
on 2nd SS I noticed it by just walking, the elevation changes in that corridor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 5:51 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 7:23 pm
Posts: 521
Im in a bit of a rush atm, and Im leaving for the weekend. I will have another beta out monday or tuesday at the latest. Preferably monday, tuesday everyone will be playing q4 :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:25 pm 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:59 am
Posts: 625
[color=#aaddff:e5f15683c4]ooooh... will download and take a look :D[/color]

_________________
http://www.digital-assault.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 21 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net