It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:08 pm


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 6 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Q4finkodm1_beta1 ready to go
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 5:50 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1438
Download:
http://www.digital-disposition.com/q4finkodm1_beta1.zip

Youtube Run-thru (wondering if I'm original with this idea. Prolly not, lol):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqtfI0MGYWs

Install and Play Instructions:
Put the pk4 in your q4base directory.
Start Q4 Multiplayer.
Go to Multiplayer Menu, then create server, then select the map and start your server. This map is setup for DM and TDM modes only.

Feedback appreciated :) Please test with Q4 version 1.4.1, since that is the future of Q4.

I've stuck with the original layout for the most part. There have been some adjustments and some items have been bumped around a tad. But if you're already familiar with the Q3 version, you'll still find it very familiar.

The teleporter to quad gameplay is still present. It's really the whole point of the map to generate a ton of mayhem every 2 minutes :) Add in the fact that you can now shoot through teleporters and that quad room is going to get super messy in this version !dev1 Always hated those maps that tuck the quaddamage off in some corner so some schmuck can camp it ;) The map certainly seems to play faster. Some areas a bit tighter as well. I got rid of some of the unneccessary ramps and ledges that did nothing but get in the way to try to open some areas up a bit.

Quick notes:
-I've added no sound to the map yet (ambient, etc.)
-The quad room is unfinished. Pretty barebones at the moment.
-Still playing with items and how far they're off of the floor.
-Map may be too bright. Kinda flooding out the subtle lighting going on. Could be my settings though.
-Looking for feedback on framerates. I've got the lightcounts under control. I'm curious to see how the triangle counts are effecting people.

Let me have it :)

Screenshots posted the other day. A lil outdated, but you get the idea.

http://www.digital-disposition.com/zs_shots/dm6_001.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/zs_shots/dm6_002.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/zs_shots/dm6_003.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/zs_shots/dm6_004.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/zs_shots/dm6_005.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/zs_shots/dm6_006.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/zs_shots/dm6_007.jpg
http://www.digital-disposition.com/zs_shots/dm6_008.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 5:55 pm 
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:44 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Derry, NH
sweet. I'll update q4 tonight and give this a run through. :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 2:51 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
Got it!

Saw the You Tube run thru - looks nice!

_________________
WE, THE WILLING
LED BY THE UNCARING
HAVE DONE SO MUCH
WITH SO LITTLE
FOR SO LONG
THAT WE ARE NOW QUALIFIED
TO DO ANYTHING, WITH NOTHING.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 5:48 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
I am testing your map right now, and I have found that if you shoot a rocket at the teleporters just before you go through them, sometimes you do not teleport, you just end up passing through them like they weren't there, and end up facing the wall behind them. Is this some kind of fail safe feature of the game to prevent you from shooting yourself when you get to the other side?
Also, if you are in the quad damage chamber and shoot through the teleporters, sometimes your rocket comes back into the quad room, and just misses you, but not all of the time.
Also, in the Q3 version, the upper platforms were constructed as a mesh that could be seen through. If there any way to do this in Q4, or if you could make them transparent the same way you constructed the window in the floor, it would be more like the original map, where you could see your opponents below you.
I also see that you have repositioned the mega health away from the corner on the main level, but it is probably better positioned where it is now.
As you said, the map seems smaller now, with less steps, but being smaller is probably a good choice for gameplay with fewer players.
I have seen no issues with movement or textures so far, but I have only been moving around in it for a short time.
As far as frame rates go, some areas of the map such as in the quad damage room, and around the holes in the floor, and the transparent floor window revealing the quad damage below, show a 50 percent reduction in my frame rates when I am stationary just looking around the areas. But the overall sense of movement in these areas seems to be ok, as well as the jumps from one platform to another.
Looks like you have made another great map!

!toofio

_________________
WE, THE WILLING
LED BY THE UNCARING
HAVE DONE SO MUCH
WITH SO LITTLE
FOR SO LONG
THAT WE ARE NOW QUALIFIED
TO DO ANYTHING, WITH NOTHING.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 6:25 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
BTW:
my system is:
Athlon 64 3500+
1 gig (512 x 2) ddr 2 400 ram
PNY Verto G Force 7600GS 512 meg DDR AGP 8X
MSI MS-6702E Motherboard
40 gig PATA drive for operating system
120 gig PATA drive for applications
10 meg cable internet connection
Window XP Home Service Pack 2
IBM G78 17 inch monitor
Logitech 2000 DPI Laser mouse
Packard Bell (LOL) compact 105 key keyboard (using it about 10 yrs now, A,S,D keys worn off to the point that they are not legible, D completely worn off)

_________________
WE, THE WILLING
LED BY THE UNCARING
HAVE DONE SO MUCH
WITH SO LITTLE
FOR SO LONG
THAT WE ARE NOW QUALIFIED
TO DO ANYTHING, WITH NOTHING.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 5:09 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1438
Thanks a lot Spyder!

I've been reading that the Teleporter triggers may have to be on 90 degree type of angles or they act a little flakey. I'll see if that fixes them.

I forgot about the upper levels having the mesh. Good catch. Not sure glass would be appropriate. I think a similiar mesh, that you could machine gun or plasma through (but not rockets/nades) would be in order. Just on the arching part though.

I'll constantly be tweaking the framerates and such. I'm still concerned about how it runs when some big firefights break out. Unless, I can get it on a server, I'll never really know.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 6 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net