Burial Grounds Forums
http://www.burial-grounds.com/forum/


http://www.burial-grounds.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=7725
Page 2 of 3

Author:  Commander Keen [ Wed Aug 02, 2006 2:49 pm ]
Post subject: 

[quote1154526384=Qsiris]
Keen, blow videocard heatsink ridges with compressed air, clean the rest of pc.
Remount CPU heatsink,(add grease perhaps) . Remount chipset heatsink,( add grease.)
Raise CPU, memory and chipset voltages one notch. And in the end give pc a good
workout with case OPEN.

If all fails, get high quality 500w PSU. (I have 580w Hiper Type R).
[/quote1154526384]


I do appreciate your reminder but, it is clean. It has done it when it was clean, it did it on Far Cry the first day I put the thing together, so no dust had had time to settle on any parts. Everything was new including the case. The problem did improve when I put the 450W Mad Dog PSU in there but still occurs, clean or dirty, but I keep it very clean and I do not believe it's the issue since it's done it since it came off the FedEx truck.

Which sound card do you have?

Author:  +UB+_Rare Vos [ Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:19 pm ]
Post subject: 

[blockquote]I have the exact same system as you except my MSI is the one with the built in Sound Blaster 24, so it's not technically in a PCI slot. but is on the bus. [/blockquote]
Keen, my MSI has the built in Sound Blaster 24 also, I just wanted to have the front panel connections and controls that the Audigy 2 ZS Platinum gives you (and having the IR remote control is nice when your using the computer for audio video entertainment!).

And as far as FarCry goes, I still need to test it again. I too have had "issues" with it from the day I loaded it. From what I remember, I had to remove some of the Creative apps that load at start-up (cthelper.exe I think?), and then it stopped hanging when I tried to fire it up.

Have you tried to disable the on-board sound card to see if your problems go away? You can do that in your BIOS as a test, and if your problems so away you may want to consider using a different sound card. Food for thought (it is lunch time, after all !mistrust :D ).

Author:  rhogue islander [ Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:58 pm ]
Post subject: 

Creative stirkes again, lol!

Sorry, I know that isn't helpful.

Author:  SPYDER [ Thu Aug 03, 2006 12:22 am ]
Post subject: 

I have used at least 8 sound blaster live cards in the systems I have built, with very few issues. In fact, I think that I have only used the onboard sound a couple of times, for systems I have built for relatives who were not into music or gaming, but just wanted a pc to do their personal finances and other related things, and surf the web. I still have a pc with an amd 386 DX 25 processor, and one of the old sound blaster 8 bit cards in it. (I'm really dating myself - LOL). Some of their older software really sucked big time, though. It got to the point that I would only load the drivers, and chuck the rest of it in the bit bucket.

8)

Author:  SPYDER [ Thu Aug 03, 2006 12:29 am ]
Post subject: 

One other thing just came to mind. If you go to the microsoft website and do some querys, you will find one that has to do with an issue concerning the power down of unused usb devices that can cause windows not to shut down properly. Maybe something is running in the background that is trying to shut something off after a certain time period, that is causing the lockups.


!puff

Author:  +UB+_Rare Vos [ Thu Aug 03, 2006 12:39 am ]
Post subject: 

[quote1154561707=SPYDER]
One other thing just came to mind. If you go to the microsoft website and do some querys, you will find one that has to do with an issue concerning the power down of unused usb devices that can cause windows not to shut down properly. Maybe something is running in the background that is trying to shut something off after a certain time period, that is causing the lockups.


!puff
[/quote1154561707]

I did find that patch and install it!

Author:  Qsiris [ Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:11 am ]
Post subject: 

Hey Keen, did you try the rest of my suggestions ?
At least you can test it with open case.

There's also some chip at the bottom of the mobo without heatsink.
Looks like southbridge perhaps ? It wouldn't hurt if you glue some small heatsink on top of it,

Also disable sound and play that way for a while.

If new PSU is not coming you can underclock videocard and CPU .

Good luck buddy.

Author:  Commander Keen [ Thu Aug 03, 2006 2:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

Thanks man, I hadn't tried it yet because I finally did finish Quake4 and I finished the Prey demo, Prey does it as well. I'll run through the demo again and see if it does it, and then again with the sound card disabled. Good ideas.

Author:  Commander Keen [ Thu Aug 03, 2006 2:17 pm ]
Post subject: 

I still think it's odd that only GL games with Bloom technology cause it to happen. Even games that aren't pushing the frame rates.

Do you see the same thing Rare Vos?

Author:  +UB+_Rare Vos [ Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:31 pm ]
Post subject: 

[quote1154622397=Commander Keen]
I still think it's odd that only GL games with Bloom technology cause it to happen. Even games that aren't pushing the frame rates.

Do you see the same thing Rare Vos?
[/quote1154622397]

I did have a hunch that it might have been somthing along those lines, but what ever was causing it was taken care of when I did the things I mentioned above.

Every now and then I do still get a 'hardware' beep while in the midst of a game and my mouse will freeze for a second, then recover. From the first game I loaded on this current rig it would happen, then over the last few months it got worse, with lock-ups, looping sound, etc.

All better now though. Good luck in finding the gremlin in your hardware !bdt

Author:  Commander Keen [ Sat Aug 05, 2006 4:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

So far I have only done the AMD XP 64 driver and I just played through all of the Prey demo, and 3 levels of Quake 4 (all I could stand) and it didn't lock up.

BUT!!!

It would sometimes it's really not consistant as to when it happens so I'll keep the jury on sequester on this one until they reach a verdict. Then I'll download the new Sounblaster driver (always makes me nervous) and install it if the lockups start to occur again. I seriously hate creative's drivers, and even if these fixes work I'll probably not go back to a sound blaster product ever again. The reviews of this board made me do it, but twice bitten now maybe?

/ramble

PS Thank you Rare Vos I think it's awesome that we have almost exactly the same rig and others here have the same mobo in common.

Author:  +UB+_Rare Vos [ Sun Aug 13, 2006 3:02 pm ]
Post subject: 

One other thing I have noticed since I moved my sound card to a lower PCI slot is that when I plug my headphones into the jack on the front of my Audigy 2 ZS Platinum during CoD2, or any other game for that matter, it actually works properly now. When the sound card was in the top slot, just below the graphics card and I plugged the headphones in mid-game I would get no sound until I left the game and re-joined, and then it would be flakey and typically lock up after a few minutes.

Seems to be rock solid now, like it should be. Agree that Creative has a bad rep for poor drivers and compatability issues over the years.

Author:  Commander Keen [ Sun Aug 13, 2006 6:07 pm ]
Post subject: 

I know the creative software controls what jacks are output so maybe having the latest driver fixed that??

Status update on mine, since installing the AMD processor driver and the SoundBlaster Live 24 driver I can play DOOM3 on it's highest detail settings in the menu and the...

Code:
seta image_downSizeLimit "1024"
seta image_ignoreHighQuality "0"
seta image_downSizeBumpLimit "1024"
seta image_downSizeSpecularLimit "256"
seta image_downSizeBump "0"
seta image_downSizeSpecular "0"


...hack that I found somewhere. I'd say it looks much better and is actually more fun to play without the lock ups I was having.

I want to thank you again. *hands virtual beer to Rare Vos* ;)

Author:  Commander Keen [ Sun Aug 13, 2006 6:08 pm ]
Post subject: 

Better go play some UT2004...LOL

v v v My signature shows what I've been playing v v v

Author:  Rroff [ Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:31 pm ]
Post subject: 

not by any chance using the 91.31 nVidia drivers? they are known to cause lockups with some systems in quake 3 and doom3 engine games. The latest betas don't have the same issues however (afaik)

Page 2 of 3 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/