It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:59 am


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: speed up for doom3 (Q4?)
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 3:52 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:54 am
Posts: 487
I will give this a shot... something like you (Oldwarrior) mentioned... maybe this will help us in Q4 as well?

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\

"As all of you who allready have this game recognized the game is very slow even on new Computers.

I found out the reason for this and the solution to fix this problem.

As you already know after installation the game consits only of the doom3.exe and some .PK4 files. Those PK4 files includes the entire game (sounds, videos, textures etc.) in high compressed form.

Normally those files were decompresse during the game.

But this exactly is the problem. Even new CPUs are not able to decompress those files while running the game with good peformance and therfore the game runs very **** also on new computers. I don't know if the develpers of ID-Soft was just too stupid to think about this or if they have an agreement with some hardware manufacturing firms.

How to get around this problem:

It is very simple. Go to your Doom 3 installation directoy and get inside the folder "Base". There are some .PK4 files you have to open each of them with WinRAR 3.3 and extract their entire contents to the Base dir in you Doom 3 installation folder (replace all files if they are any duplicates). Now you have to delete all .PK4 files in the Base folder to prevent the game to use those compressed files agian.

Now the game starts and runs mutch faster!!!

Have fun playing Doom 3!!! "

_________________
"ALL YOUR BASS ARE BELONG TO US"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 4:00 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
You could unzip all that stuff for Q4 sure. Doubt PB would let you play like that however.

Also, they're in a .zip format, but I'm not sure there is any compression used. It's merely an organization/packaging thing as far as I know. I don't think developers are overly concerned with the size of their games :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 4:14 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:56 am
Posts: 1440
Looks like they are compressed.

336MB = 1.3gb for the one file I tried it on :shock:


Seems pretty pointless in the age of DVD sales, but oh well :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 4:33 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:54 am
Posts: 487
Well... I did this and it seemed to INCREASE my load times... I have a theory as to why.

My new system is very fast now... but I still have OLD hard drives... 5200rpm or whatever they used to be... so it's perhaps faster to read less data and uncompress on the fly than to read more data?

And Finko.. there's compression going on.. my old base folder is 1.6gb or so.. and the new one (where I unzipped all the paks) is almost 8gb.

Now to figure out how to timedemo!! To do some tweaking!

Any help there?

_________________
"ALL YOUR BASS ARE BELONG TO US"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:04 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
You probably know this already - but here it is.
CTL ALT ~
drops down console.
type
timedemo demo1

run the demo about 4 times to find your best fps - for some reason it gets better after it runs a few times.

There are tweaks out there , I think Finko even mentioned some before the old forums went away. Something about the gamma settings to improve the lighting. I also read somewhere that there was an issue with some video cards that could be fixed through the console or config.

Sorry, but I can't remember the specifics - the game runs ok on my rig.

I think you hit the nail on the head about the drives - the faster the better - I remember using Q3 as a benchmark to guage drive speed, just by looking at how fast it loaded up.

_________________
WE, THE WILLING
LED BY THE UNCARING
HAVE DONE SO MUCH
WITH SO LITTLE
FOR SO LONG
THAT WE ARE NOW QUALIFIED
TO DO ANYTHING, WITH NOTHING.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:47 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:32 am
Posts: 352
Nice links, Blotto, thx. :)

To run a timedemo with textures precached, simply add a '1'.

timedemo demo1 1

This should save you the trouble of multiple runs to get a reliable result.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:33 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:32 am
Posts: 352
to set your field of view simply type:

g_fov 120

for example


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:09 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 400
Location: F L O R I D A
anytime ri :D
bunch more here with more depth
d3 tweaks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:02 pm 
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 321
there has always been a small but quite vocal minority since the early quake 3 days who claim extracting the pk3/4 files increase performance, however this will not increase your framerate in game whatsoever and while it may sometimes decrease load times, but unless you have a very slow CPU thats generally not the case. and as finko (I think) said where cheat protection, etc. is used the extracted files are usually ignored in favor of the pk3/4 and in some cases may even flag as a violation.

_________________
Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the gun!

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net