Burial Grounds Forums
http://www.burial-grounds.com/forum/

*WANTED* A 939 Motherboard (updated)
http://www.burial-grounds.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12532
Page 1 of 1

Author:  n3wD [ Mon Oct 22, 2007 11:49 pm ]
Post subject:  *WANTED* A 939 Motherboard (updated)

Well I had a bad bios flash with a bad check sum? Now I just get a black screen when it boots or trys to boot.

I need to keep this system alive till I can afford to build my next gaming system.
So if anyone has a good 939 motherboard they would sell or an idea how I can fix this one... please help I need my PC back this one im on can't play ETQW! :(

Thanks in advance from a dumbass who can't even flash his bios! !ill

Author:  Finko [ Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:00 am ]
Post subject: 

Doh !grr that sucks :(

I don't like flashing anything :D Especially the bios.

These suggestions probably wont help, but can't hurt to try I guess. Check your mobo's manual. Maybe you can reset the bios with the on-board jumpers. It's a long shot, but you never know.

Or just yank the battery on the board and put it back in after 20 seconds. Can't end up worse than what you have at the moment.

GL man.

Maybe you can pick up a cheap replacement from newegg.com till you build your new system.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductLi ... 5&name=939

Author:  n3wD [ Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:12 am ]
Post subject: 

Thanks man I'll try that.

I looked at newegg. My old board is an AGP. Can't wait to build a new one.... I hope to go all out next build! !dev1

while searching online I found something that may help? Place called biosman. i guess you order a new bios chip. does this work? for 25 bucks it sure is cheaper than a used motherboard from ebay. Its like 100 bucks for this board. you would think being old and all but i guess that make them kinda rare...

what a brain fart!

Author:  Rroff [ Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:59 pm ]
Post subject: 

Depends if you have a socketed BIOS or not...

Some motherboards even after a bad BIOS flash have the facility to load a recovery BIOS from CD, tho the board might be too old to have this feature...

Author:  n3wD [ Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:49 am ]
Post subject: 

The board is a AV8 Deluxe.



Now that I think about it. I used the ASUS AutoUpdate program to flash the bios. It got an error when flashing. Right then I probably should have reflashed with my backup bios :@ BUTT I restarted the computer. Got a bad check sum error so it searched for a bios in the floppy then searched the CD drive which I had the motherboard disk in cause I just installed the damn ASUS Autoupdate crap off of it. It then said restart PC to complete. I did. I got a black screen and fans spinning with no beep no hard drive noise.

So maybe I get that black screen now cause that bios version is so old that it can't see my cpu. B)
The dual core cpu's need version 1013 or higher.

Well I ordered a bios chip with the latest bios version on it. I hope that does it.

Author:  n3wD [ Sat Oct 27, 2007 6:28 am ]
Post subject: 

Still waiting for the bios chip.... hope it shows up tomorrow. i miss my pc :(

Author:  n3wD [ Mon Oct 29, 2007 11:34 pm ]
Post subject: 

The chip arrived today! Slapped it in and booted right up! w00t!

I'm back in business.

Also The new power supply I ordered is pretty damn nice. It's an Ultra X connect.

After I installed the new Opteron 185 i ran 3dmark06 and it said I'm #1 in my category! sweet!

Long live AGP and DDR :p

Author:  SPYDER [ Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:17 am ]
Post subject: 

Thank you for posting the information about biosman.

I will check that company out for sure if I ever need their service.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/