Burial Grounds Forums
http://www.burial-grounds.com/forum/

Help: Bios does not find RAID drives
http://www.burial-grounds.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11412
Page 1 of 1

Author:  NECROSIS [ Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Help: Bios does not find RAID drives

So here is my issue. I plug in 2 new drives into a PC to do a fresh install of winblows. I put in both drives, set up a RAID 1, load up the windows setup windows formats the drives, then starts installing windows at some point while I walked away the computere went from installing windows to:

"Windows cannot start because of a hardware configuration error. Could not find drive in boot sequence"

or something along those lines. So I restart and now neither windows or the bios can see the drives, however the raid sees them fine still.

Any ideas on how to fix this problem?

Author:  SPYDER [ Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:41 pm ]
Post subject: 

Did your mobo come with a floppy disk with drivers to be loaded when you start the windows install, or did the driver cd have a floppy image on it to create one?

When you first start the windows install, before you get very far into it, it asks if you want to install a third party driver.

Sometimes this can only be accomplished by using a floppy disk.

Also, if the bios became corrupted for some reason, maybe using the reset bios jumper to set it back to the defaults might help.

Author:  Hex [ Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:03 am ]
Post subject: 

Yup what spyder said. watch the windows install right at the beginning and you'll see at the bottom "press F6 to use custom drivers" or something like that. Press F6 and it doesn't seem like anything happens but it registered. You'll have to get the RAID card drivers onto a floppy thats the only way. Then the install goes along and eventually asks you to insert the driver floppy. Then it shouldl see your logical drive.

Author:  NECROSIS [ Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:18 am ]
Post subject: 

Thanks guys... I will try that... now I just gotta figure ouw how to copy things onto a diskette... can I not do this on a CD?

Author:  SPYDER [ Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:42 am ]
Post subject: 

From what I have read in Maximum PC magazine, they say that this is one of the VERY few things you still need a floppy disk for.

Anybody out there know about a workaround?

Author:  Commander Keen [ Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:38 pm ]
Post subject: 

The driver can be on any removable media, as long as the PE environment has the driver to see that hardware.

Like CD/DVD or USB pen drive.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/