It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:29 pm


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 13 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Browser hijack?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:08 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:08 am
Posts: 533
Hi folks, when I click on my google search results IE sends to some wacky advertisement - mostly restricted site. Browser hijack situation? I will look for some solutions and at the mean time any suggestions or past experiences?

Thanks.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:49 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:59 pm
Posts: 1486
google 'hijackthis' and you'll find a tool that can help...

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html

Prceed with caution this does not work like Spybot or AdAware it finds known registry keys and locations where hijackers put themselves into your system.

You have to carefully read the list and determine if it's a bad thing, so take care in what you tell it to remove.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:26 am 
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 321
gimme a yell on msn if you want me to look at the hijackthis log I've done it on many systems so have a decent understanding of what should and shouldn't be there.

_________________
Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the gun!

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 3:10 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
Hey OzZ:

Have you tried spybot search ans destroy, Ad Aware, and Windows defender yet?

Some times they will find and fix browser hijack situations.

If not, Hijack This will be a great tool to find out what has happened, as Keen and Rroff mentioned.

If Rroff has used it and is familiar with the report that it gives you, it can be a very powerful tool.

_________________
WE, THE WILLING
LED BY THE UNCARING
HAVE DONE SO MUCH
WITH SO LITTLE
FOR SO LONG
THAT WE ARE NOW QUALIFIED
TO DO ANYTHING, WITH NOTHING.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:58 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:08 am
Posts: 533
Adaware and S&d both of them also AVG.
AVG and adawre stalled during scans... this sucks

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:16 pm 
Full Member
Full Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:21 am
Posts: 181
Switch to FireFox.

_________________
There Is Only The Quick And The Dead
Image
Purveyor and Supplier for the Aged, Pineapple Division


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:26 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:08 am
Posts: 533
I did OW. I don't get any problems with Firefox for browsing.
And the problem is turning into an avalanche. Tried to delete my temp files using windows explorer and I get an error message that says Windows explorer is crashed etc. error reporting... I go to hardware management I get a bunch of dll errors...
Try to update windows... internet explorer freezes...
I can't believe this bullshit... hahaha
Then try to enable automatic updates.. it says windows could not turn on automatic updates. Says go to settings, I go there, and the tab for automatic updates has dissapeared... like a little fucking horror movie... have to delete everything now... way to spend a sunday... shitttt!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:15 am 
Full Member
Full Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:21 am
Posts: 181
Something that may help in the future is to use SpyWareGuard
http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareguard.html
And keep it updated.
I also use SpyWareBlaster from the same folks, and keep it updated.
http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
Along with SpyBot Search and Destroy,AdAware,ZoneAlarmSE, and HighJackThis.
I installed McAfee late last year, it's become a jungle out there.
I do a lot of downloading from torrent sights for TV programs since I have revolted against the pricing of TimeWarner and now only have basic local stations and Internet access through TW.
The torrent sights are also my main supply of Korean language movie DVD's for Chong.
IE it seems is still full of holes and will always be that way, even their latest release sucks, it's gotten to the point that I very rarely use it.

_________________
There Is Only The Quick And The Dead
Image
Purveyor and Supplier for the Aged, Pineapple Division


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:48 am 
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 321
His problem (initially) was local dns poisioning, but even after we fixed the network settings it seemed to still happen so I'm guessing some trojan/rootkit is embeded in there and gonna need a reinstall.

_________________
Good? Bad? I'm the guy with the gun!

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:01 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:59 pm
Posts: 1486
bummer :(

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:48 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:08 am
Posts: 533
it is...
well, reinstall done...
Scanningprocess.exe runs on my pc but it's a zonealarm utility.. some sites say its a beagle trojan... wtf..

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 8:09 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:59 am
Posts: 1012
Location: Florida
If you can, go to someone else's pc and do a google search for beagle trojan. You will get 466,000 search results on it, including some info on how to remove it.

_________________
WE, THE WILLING
LED BY THE UNCARING
HAVE DONE SO MUCH
WITH SO LITTLE
FOR SO LONG
THAT WE ARE NOW QUALIFIED
TO DO ANYTHING, WITH NOTHING.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:40 pm 
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:08 pm
Posts: 24
If you've installed ZoneAlarm Antivirus and/or Antispyware, then scanningprocess.exe likely belongs to them. While it's running, try going into the ZoneAlarm folder and sending scanningprocess.exe to the recycle bin (don't delete permanently!). While this isn't a foolproof method, you will most likely get an error that the file is in use and you can't remove it. If you get that error, then the scanningprocess.exe most likely belongs to ZA.

Hope this is of some - even if minimal - assistance :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 13 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net